Sec. 28-22. Membership.

The traffic commission shall consist of four members who are residents of the city to be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the board of commissioners. The members of said commission shall be bona fide residents of the city at the time of their appointment and shall remain residents of the city or the area comprising said city during the term of their appointment. In addition to the four members set forth in this section, the chief of police shall serve as a member with the right to vote and the city manager shall serve as member but shall have no vote except in case of a tie. The members of the first commission appointed shall take office as of the date of their appointment and qualification. The chief of police and city manager shall serve as permanent members. The remaining members shall serve for terms of three years, provided that one member shall be appointed for a term of one year from the date of appointment, one for two years and the remaining two for three years.

(Code 1997, § 5-9-102; Ord. No. 98-23, 7-6-1998; Ord. No. 98-37, 10-5-1998)